THE FREITAG STORY

In 1993, graphic designers Markus and Daniel Freitag were looking for a functional, water-repellent and robust bag to hold their creative work. Inspired by the multicolored heavy traffic that rumbled through the Zurich transit intersection in front of their flat, they developed a messenger bag from used truck tarpaulins, discarded bicycle inner tubes and car seat belts. This is how the first FREITAG bags took shape in the living room of their shared apartment – each one recycled, each one unique.

With their innovation, the brothers inadvertently triggered a seismic event in the world of bag making. Its tremors have since made themselves felt in Zurich and the cities of Europe and spread all the way to Asia, making FREITAG the unofficial outfitter of all urban, bike-riding individualists.

The first F13 TOP CAT messenger bag has since spawned the highly functional FUNDAMENTALS product line with over 40 different models. And since 2010, the REFERENCE collection with Haute Maroquinerie made from vintage truck tarps has struck fear into the heart of the calf- and crocodile-recycling bag industry.

Today our products are available in twelve F-STORES as well as at over 450 resellers around the world. In the FREITAG Online Store there's an extensive choice of over 5000 unique products. FREITAG has been headquartered at the Nœrd industrial complex in Zurich-Oerlikon since 2011. This is where the truck tarps we collect are taken apart, washed and cut up. FREITAG still belongs to the two Freitag brothers, and, as Creative Directors, they still conceive and oversee each new model through to series production.

In 2014, they gave themselves a new raw material to play with: F-ABRIC. Their rugged, completely compostable textiles are based on bast fibers that are produced using a minimum of resources within a 2500-kilometer radius of headquarters. F ABRIC thus more than lives up to the FREITAG philosophy: We think and act in cycles.

DIE FREITAG STORY

1993 suchten die beiden Grafikdesigner Markus und Daniel Freitag nach einer funktionellen, wasserabweisenden und robusten Tasche für ihre Entwürfe. Inspiriert vom bunten Schwerverkehr, der täglich an ihrer Wohnung vorbei über die Zürcher Transitachse brummte, entwickelten sie einen Messenger Bag aus gebrauchten LKW-Planen, ausrangierten Fahrradschläuchen und Autogurten. So entstanden im Wohnzimmer der WG die ersten FREITAG Taschen – jede rezykliert, jede ein Unikat.

Unbeabsichtigt lösten die Brüder damit eine neue Welle in der Taschenwelt aus, die von Zürich aus über die europäischen Städte bis nach Asien schwappte und FREITAG zum inoffiziellen Ausrüster aller urbanen, velofahrenden IndividualistInnen machte.

Aus der ersten Kuriertasche F13 TOP CAT sind bis heute über 40 verschiedenen Modelle – von der Smartphone-Hülle über die Einkaufstasche bis zur Laptop-Tasche – entstanden. Seit 2010 lehrt die REFERENCE Kollektion mit Haute Maroquinerie aus Vintage-LKW-Planen der kälber- und krokodil-rezyklierenden Taschenindustrie das Fürchten.

FREITAG Produkte gibt es in mittlerweile zwölf F-STORES und bei über 450 F-Dealern auf der ganzen Welt, und im weltweit einzigartigen FREITAG Online Store warten etwa 5000 ganz verschiedene Unikate darauf, ausgesucht zu werden. Das Hauptquartier befindet sich seit 2011 in Zürich Oerlikon im Gewerbehaus Nœrd. Hier werden die LKW-Planen zerlegt, gewaschen und zugeschnitten. FREITAG gehört immer noch den Freitag Brüdern, und als Creative Directors erdenken und begleiten sie jedes neue Modell bis zur Produktionsreife.

2014 haben sie sich mit F-ABRIC ein neues Rohmaterial geschenkt: Von Grund auf selbstentwickelte Textilien aus Bastfasern, im Umkreis von 2500 Kilometern mit minimalem Ressourceneinsatz produziert, strapazierfähig und vollständig biologisch abbaubar. Damit wird F-ABRIC der FREITAG Philosophie mehr als gerecht: We think and act in cycles.