Abusizz in Zermatt

R523 HOFFMANN is our new Good Business Bag. For the image campaign, we did not want just a good-looking model to wear the bag – so we looked for real business people.

First, we went to Zermatt to meet Abusizz, five young men from Valais with a pile of scrap wood steeped in history and the mission to transform it into designer furniture.

It all started when the two carpenters/designers Michi and Lukas had the opportunity to design game chests for the Matterhorn Base Camp. They were inspired by the special atmosphere in the hut on evenings before a demanding expedition to the Matterhorn, when there is nothing more to do than sit together comfortably and simply enjoy each other’s company. Abusizz is the old Valais expression for mellow moments such as these, and they wanted to bring it back to today’s busy lifestyles.

The Good Business Bag - R523 HOFFMANN

Together with Simon and Roger, friends from the Lucerne School of Engineering and Architecture , and Andi, they create furniture that combines the old Abusizz tradition with the digital needs of today. The result? A wooden table that transforms into a touch screen when needed – everything that needs to be discussed together can be projected directly on to the wood and edited there.

«Abusizz should evolve through our products. We want to keep this spirit alive!»

It took a good year until a reliable static was found and the electric functions of the table were operational. Finally, the table inspired by the spirit of Abusizz was launched – to great interest. Having said that, all five Abusizz partners still have ‘proper’ jobs and they find that a good thing.

Working through weekends has brought them together and shaped their friendship. In addition, their daytime jobs are also a source of new ideas that they can bring to their side project.

Zermatt isn’t just the place where the Abusizz concept comes from, it’s also where the furniture is produced – in their relatives’ carpentry workshops. And in each piece lies a share of mountaineering history that lives on in the individual furniture parts, such as the drawers made from the wood of the now-demolished Hörnlihutte, the Matterhorn’s mountain hut built in 1911.

The remainder is made from FSC-certified wood with as few electronic components as possible. The emphasis is on sustainability and fair production conditions.

«How do you measure fairness and sustainability, and when is it enough? The answer is never simple or clear, yet it is important to ask this question every time we make a decision.»

Their resource, the scrap wood from the old Hörnli hut, is running low. But that isn't the end for Abusizz, which has far too many ideas to stop now.

«To brainstorm, we’re known to switch off the digital equipment and drink a beer at the table. And luckily for us, there are still quite a few run-down huts around Zermatt.»

A big thanks to Yves Bachmann for the photos!

More Stories

Abusizz in Zermatt

R523 HOFFMANN ist unser neuer «Good Business Bag». Für die Bilder wollten wir diesen aber nicht einfach einem «good looking» Model in die Hand drücken.

Als erstes haben wir in Zermatt Abusizz getroffen, fünf junge Männer mit einem Haufen geschichtsträchtigem Abfallholz und einer Designer-Möbel-gewordenen Philosophie aus dem Wallis.

Angefangen hat alles, als die beiden Schreiner-Designer Michi und Lukas das Matterhorn Basecamp mit Spielkisten ausstatten durften. Die spezielle Atmosphäre im Hüttenprovisorium, wenn man am Abend vor der anspruchsvollen Tour aufs Matterhorn nichts anderes tun kann, als gemütlich Beisammen zu sein und sich ohne Ablenkung auszutauschen, hat sie inspiriert. Abusizz ist der alte walliserdeutsche Ausdruck dafür und den wollten sie in unseren heutigen, hektischen Alltag zurückbringen.

The Good Business Bag - R523 HOFFMANN

Zusammen mit Simon und Roger, die sie von der Hochschule für Technik & Architektur kennen und Andi ist ein Möbel entstanden, das den alten Abusizz von heute mit den digitalen Bedürfnissen von heute vereint. Ein Holztisch, der bei Bedarf zum Touchscreen wird. Alles, was beim Beisammensein diskutiert werden muss, kann direkt aufs Holz projeziert und hier auch bearbeitet werden.

«Der Abusizz soll in unseren Produkten weiterleben. Dieses Lebensgefühl wollen wir erhalten!»

Es hat ein gutes Jahr gedauert, bis eine verlässliche Statik gefunden wurde und die elektronische Bedienung auf dem Tisch funktionierte. Der Abusizz als Tisch ist eben erst auf den Markt gekommen und stösst auf reges Interesse. Trotzdem haben alle der fünf Macher Abusizz auch noch 'richtige' Jobs und finden das auch gut so.

All die durchgearbeiteten Wochenenden haben sie zusammengeschweisst und ihre Freundschaft geprägt. Zudem sind ihre anderen Jobs auch die Quelle für immer wieder neuen Ideen, die sie ins Projekt einbringen können.

Nicht nur der Gedanke des Abusizz kommt aus der Zermatt, hier werden die Möbel in der Schreinerei von Verwandten auch produziert. Und in jedem steckt ein Stück Alpinismus-Geschichte, das man anfassen kann. Einzelne Möbelteile wie z.B. die Schublade werden aus dem Holz der abgerissenen Hörnlihütte, dem 1911 erbauten Berghaus beim Matterhorn, gefertigt.

Der Rest besteht aus FSC-zertifizierten Hölzern und so wenig Elektronik-Komponenten wie möglich. Schliesslich wird auf Nachhaltigkeit und faire Produktionsbedingungen Wert gelegt.

«Wann ist fair und nachhaltig, auch wirklich fair und nachhaltig genug? Dafür gibt es nie eine einfache und eindeutige Antwort, trotzdem muss man sich diese Fragen bei jeder Entscheidung immer wieder neu stellen.»

Ihre Ressource, das Altholz der Hörnlihütte, ist bald aufgebraucht (völlig vermöbelt, sozusagen) Aber das soll nicht das Ende von Abusizz sein, dazu haben sie noch zu viele Ideen.

«Zum Ideensammeln schalten wir die Elektronik auch mal aus und trinken noch ein Bier am Tisch. Und zum Glück gibt es rund um Zermatt noch die eine oder andere in die Jahre gekommene Hütte.»

Grosser Dank an Yves Bachmann für die Bilder!

More Stories