For the F-ABRIC collection we went to Athens and shot a few models building a new skate park.

At FREITAG we don’t just want things well and good – we want them honest and real. After all, F-ABRIC is still workwear, even when it’s worn by models. For our photo shoots, we always look for interesting locations and sometimes source our models from the F-actory and other friendly places, rather than just from agency catalogs. So for instance, almost our entire crew has appeared in front of the camera for one of our stop-motion how-to bag videos.

For the F-ABRIC photo shoot of the new spring and summer collection in February 2016, our photographer Amanda Camenisch found Zachos Varfis and LATRAAC in Athens.

Zachos is an architect and skater, and his project LATRAAC is equally interesting from an architectural, visual and social perspective. If you live in the central but somewhat rundown district of Kerameikos, you’re most likely unemployed and come from somewhere that’s even worse off than Greece.

In the midst of it all, Zachos and his friends took over a derelict backyard and are now building an urban oasis in this urban desert, a transition skate park with a cafe for the local youth and anyone else who wants to use Athens’ first and only bowl. Zachos designed the plywood skate park using architectural CAD tools and it is now being built plank by plank by friends, acquaintances, locals and others keen to lend a hand.

Ok, let’s be honest: we and the models didn’t really do much construction work, what with all the photography, but still we pulled out weeds and painted some walls, which you can see in my photos below.

We’d like to thank Zachos Varvis and Amanda Camenisch for absolutely EVERYTHING! Thanks also to the models Kinga and Gabriel for helping out and the photography crew for carrying all the heavy gear, doing the lighting, make-up, wardrobe and letting us push you in front of the camera from time to time. The LATRAAC team is currently putting the finishing touches on the skate park and cafe, both of which should be open daily to the public from the end of May. You can pester Zachos with your questions here.

Für die F-ABRIC Kollektion waren wir in Athen und haben ein paar Models beim Skate-Park-Bauen abgeschossen.

FREITAG will es nicht nur schön und gut, sondern auch echt und ehrlich. Und F-ABRIC ist immer noch Arbeitskleidung, auch wenn es von Models getragen wird. So suchen wir für unsere Shootings am liebsten interessante Unorte, und Models scouten wir nicht nur in Agenturkarteien, sondern auch in der F-abrik oder anderen befreundeten Orten. So musste z.B. schon fast die gesamte F-Crew einmal als Hauptdarsteller in einem unserer Stop-Motion Taschen-How-To-Movies vor die Kamera.

Fürs F-ABRIC Shooting der neuen Frühlings- und Sommerteile im Februar 2016 hat unsere Fotografin Amanda Camenisch in Athen Zachos Varfis und LATRAAC gefunden.

Zachos ist Architekt und Skater, sein Projekt LATRAAC ist sowohl aus architektonischen, visuellen, wie auch aus sozialen Gesichtspunkten genau gleich interessant: Wer im zentalen, aber etwas heruntergekommen Quartier Kerameikos wohnt, ist meist arm und arbeitslos und stammt aus einem Ort, dem es noch schlechter geht als Griechenland.

Mitten drin hat Zachos mit seinen Freunden einen verfallen Hinterhof übernommen und baut jetzt dort eine urbane Oase in der urbanen Wüste, einen Transition Skatepark mit Café für die Jugendlichen im Quartier und alle, die in die erste und einzige Bowl in Athen wollen. Zachos hat die Anlage aus Sperrholz mit Hilfe von Architekten-CAD-Tools entworfen und jetzt entsteht die Anlage langsam Brett um Brett mit Freunden, Bekannten, Quartierbewohnern und allen, die mithelfen wollen.

Ok, FREITAG will es ehrlich: Wir und die Models kamen bei all dem Fotografieren nicht ganz so viel zum Mitbauen, aber immerhin haben wir Unkraut gejätet und Wände bemalt, wie ihr auf meinen oben stehenden Fotos sehen könnt.

Wir danken Zachos Varvis und Amanda Camenisch für einfach ALLES! Den Models Kinga und Gabriel fürs Mitarbeiten und der Fotocrew fürs mitschleppen, -beleuchten, -beschminken, -bekleiden und Euch von uns ins Bild schubsen zu lassen. Latraac wird jetzt gerade fertig gestellt und sollte ab Ende Mai inklusive dem Skater-Café täglich für alle geöffnet sein. Online findest du es hier: www.latraac.com und Zachos kannst du hier mit Fragen löchern.