When it came to testing our latest iPhone protectors, we didn’t just use our F-crew as lab rats. We also enlisted the help of a specialist product testing lab – so we could find out what our CASES are really made of! Read on to find out whether they survived...

Facts and Features

Our new iPhone protectors are made from a flexible, thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) shell with a hard polycarbonate core.

  • The raised beveled edges protect your screen from those pesky scratches.
  • We’ve done away with the magnets and metal plates, so you can charge your device wirelessly while it sits comfortably in its CASE.
  • Each CASE is personalized with recycled truck tarp, so you’ll recognize your phone instantly. Who even needs Face ID?

They are available for the following models: F341 CASE FOR iPHONE 8/7F342 CASE FOR iPHONE XR and F343 CASE FOR iPHONE XS/X.

THE F-CREW TEST

Just like all new F-models, our F-crew subjected these new protectors to a number of tests, taking their iPhones from the office, tarp washing room and shop floor out to the bar, climbing wall, kids’ room and back again. They were thrown into snowboarders’ pockets as they slid down snowy slopes during long weekends away, and were even hurled across Zurich’s Limmatplatz. (That only happened once, though.)

THE MOTHER OF ALL ENDURANCE TESTS

Our official name is FREITAG lab. ag, though we don’t actually have a real lab with petri dishes. That’s why we asked a renowned Swiss product testing lab to test our iPhone protectors instead.

Our protective cases had to survive a barrage of tough tests. And it wasn’t just one thing after another, but two tests at a time: a cunning preliminary test and various follow-up tests, which were supposed to finish off our poor cases. 

Our CASES were subjected to a grueling temperature test: they were stored in temperatures ranging from -20°C to +60°C (-4°F to +140°F) five times for a period of 24 hours, before being dropped from a height of 100 cm a further five times onto an EN 71 standard impact plate. 

In order to test their “dry rubbing fastness”, our CASES were placed under a xenon light for 200 hours (equivalent to sitting under the blazing sun for an entire European summer), and were then rubbed against a cotton test fabric exactly 100 times. 

And sometime in between all this fun, the lab technician ran over the CASE a few times, too. (And with Anna’s private iPhone as the test subject...)

THE RESULTS

From the F-crew tests

  • All CASES are in good health and are well-loved by everyone.
  • Traces of the stunt on Zurich’s hard tarmac can be found on Daniel’s iPhone screen, however – so an additional tempered glass screen protector is a recommended addition to any CASE, for next level protection.

From the lab

  • Our CASES survived the classic oops-I-dropped-my-iPhone-while-walking height of one meter. In fact, they passed with flying colors, surviving five drops onto a metal plate and five drops onto rough tarmac. One unlucky fall meant the screen protector on the test iPhone cracked. We recommend: install a tempered glass screen protector.
  • Put the CASE in a petri dish of sweat solution, leave for 200 hours under a xenon light and it’ll begin to deform.
    We recommend: hands off the solution!
  • The lab results are in, and our cases tested positive – for success! Yay!

More Stories

Wenn es ums Testen unserer neusten iPhone-Beschützer geht, vertrauen wir nicht nur den F-Crew-Normalverbrauchern, sondern haben diese auch von einem Speziallabor auf Herz und Schale prüfen lassen. Eine Enthüllungsgeschichte.

Fakten und Features

Unsere neuen iPhone-Beschützer bestehen aus einer Schale aus flexiblem, thermoplastischem Polyurethan (TPU) mit einem harten Polycarbonat-Kern:

  • Die erhöhte, abgeschrägte Kante sorgt für erhöhten Bildschirmschutz.
  • Magnete und Metallplatten haben wir weggelassen, sodass du dein Gerät mit dem CASE kabellos aufladen kannst.
  • Die CASES sind mit LKW-Plane individualisiert, damit du dein iPhone auch ohne Gesichtserkennung wiedererkennst.

Sie sind erhältlich als und für: F341 CASE FOR iPHONE 8/7F342 CASE FOR iPHONE XR und F343 CASE FOR iPHONE XS/X.

Der F-Crew Härtetest

Wie alle neuen F-Modelle wurden auch die neuen Schoner in verschiedenen Testrunden von iPhone-besitzenden F-Workern vom Büro, der Wäscherei oder vom Zerlegplatz in die Bar, in die Kletterhalle oder ins Kinderzimmer und wieder zurück getragen. Sie sind verlängerte Wochenenden in Jackentaschen verschneite Hänge herunter gesnowboardet und sie wurden auch einmal quer über den Zürcher Verkehrsknotenpunkt Limmatplatz geschleudert.

DIE DOPPELT HARTEN HÄRTETESTS

Wir heissen zwar offiziell FREITAG lab. ag, sind aber zugegebenermassen kein richtiges Labor mit Petrischalen und so. Deshalb vertrauen wir bei iPhone-Beschützern einem namhaften Schweizer Produkttest-Labor.

Dort mussten unsere Schutzhüllen nicht einfach verschiedene Test nacheinander überstehen. Nein, jeder Test besteht genau genommen aus zwei: einem hinterhältigen Vor- und verschiedenen Folgetest, die den armen Teilen dann den Rest geben sollen: 

So wurden unsere CASES beim sogenannten Schaukeltest während 5 mal 24 Stunden bei -20 bis +60 Grad Celsius gelagert, bevor sie 5-mal aus einer Höhe von 100 cm auf eine nach EN 71 Norm hergestellte Aufprallplatte fallen gelassen wurden. 

Zur Prüfung der «Reibechtheit trocken» mussten die CASES zuerst für 200 Stunden unters Xenonlicht (dies entspricht etwa einem ganzen, europäischen Sommer unter der prallen Sonne) und danach wurden sie noch genau 100 mal an einem Bauwolltestgewebe gerieben. 

Und irgendwann ist der Testlaborant dann auch noch ein paar Mal übers CASE drüber gelaufen. (Wohlgemerkt mit Annas privatem iPhone als Testobjekt drin.)

DIE ERGEBNISSE

Aus dem F-Crew Testing

  • Alle CASE sind wohlauf und ziemlich beliebt.
  • Dem Screen von Daniels iPhone sieht man den Stunt auf Zürichs hartem Plaster aber an. Wir empfehlen: Ein zusätzliches, schützendes Panzerglas als Ergänzung zum CASE.

Aus dem Labor

  • Unsere CASES haben den Fall aus der klassischen iPhone-aus-der-Hand-fallen-lassen-Höhe von einem Meter sowohl fünfmal auf eine Metallplatte und dann noch fünfmal auf rauen Asphalt problemlos überstanden. Bei einem unglücklichen Fall hat die Panzerglas-Folie auf dem Test-iPhone einen Sprung bekommen.
    Wir empfehlen: Panzerglas montieren.
  • Legt man das CASE in eine Petrischale mit Schweisslösung und lässt es zeitgleich 200 Stunden mit Xeonlicht belichten, beginnt es sich zu verformen.
    Wir empfehlen: Hände weg von Schweisslösung!
  • Auf dem Labor-Testergebnis-Bogen steht in grün: Anforderungen erfüllt. Juhui!

Weitere Geschichten