Contact Tarp Procurement

Would you like to sell your used truck tarpaulins to FREITAG? Bingo – you’ve come to the right place!

Our asphalt-tested Truckspotter Monica will breathe new life into your tarps, meaning that she will soon be on her happy way through the cities of the world once again – but this time in the form of bags and accessories.

Please provide us with more details and we will contact you with the speed of a pan-European express transport truck.

Contact: 
Mrs. Monica Cesconi - +41 43 210 32 51 - monica.cesconi@freitag.ch

CHASING THE F-RAINBOW

Claudia’s job is unique to FREITAG. She and her team of truck spotters remove worn-out tarps from around 6'700 trucks every year. In this post, she tells you how it all works, and why she’s so picky about tarps.

CLAUDIA'S STORY

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

WHAT DO I GET OUT OF IT?

Quite a lot, actually: you cut down on disposal costs, make your environmental footprint smaller and help to extend the life cycle of a resilient material. And you’ll earn a bit of extra cash for your coffers, too.

WHAT WILL YOU GIVE ME FOR MY TARPS?

The color, weight, appearance and so on govern how much we pay. We list our prices per kilogram of usable material.
We do a final weighing at our factory, after which we can state the definitive price. Speaking from experience, we can generally use 50% of the material weight supplied to us.
Send us an email or give us a call, and we’ll prepare an approximate quote for you.
 

CAN YOU SEND ME A CONFIRMATION THAT PROVES I HAVE A PARTNERSHIP WITH FREITAG?

Of course. We’d be happy to provide you with one.

HERE’S HOW IT WORKS

WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR ORGANIZING THE TARP DELIVERY?

We work with a local partner to take care of transport and customs. 

HOW DOES THE TARP COLLECTION AND DELIVERY PROCESS WORK?

After we receive confirmation from you that the tarps are ready, we contact our local partner to put the wheels in motion for their collection. Our partner will then get in touch with you to determine the best time to pick them up. The tarps will be delivered to our factory in Zurich a few days after that.

HOW MANY TARPS DO I NEED TO HAVE AT THE MINIMUM BEFORE YOU MAKE A COLLECTION?

Depending on how far away you are from our factory in Zurich, one or two pallets is the minimum for us to arrange transport. In our experience, a EUR-pallet (EPAL) will hold up to four or five tarps.

HOW SHOULD I PACK THE TARPS?

To make it easy for us when handling the pallets, please tie the tarps down as securely as possible – preferably with straps or belts – on one or more EPAL/EUR-pallets (80 x 120 cm, max. 600 kg per pallet). We receive multiple deliveries each day, which is why it’s important for you to mark your pallets with your name or the name of your company.

I’D LIKE TO GET MY PALLETS BACK AFTERWARDS. DO YOU HAVE A PALLET EXCHANGE ARRANGEMENT IN PLACE?

Yes, if those pallets are EUR-pallets (EPAL). We can arrange for the pallets to be exchanged when collecting the tarps. Just let us know if you’d like to exchange your pallets when you inform us that your tarps are ready for collection.

HOW DO I RECEIVE PAYMENT FOR MY TARPS?

After the tarps arrive at our factory in Zurich, we disassemble them and remove the eyelets and straps. We also cut off all parts that are too fragile, brittle or otherwise unusable. We then take the parts that we can recycle into bags and weigh them by color. We’ll prepare a payment notice for the order based on the unit prices stated on the initial quote we sent you. We will transfer the amount directly to your bank account.

I WOULD LIKE TO BE PAID IN CASH. IS THAT POSSIBLE?

Sadly not. We can only pay our suppliers via bank transfer, by invoice or by payment order.

QUALITY REQUIREMENTS

IS IT TRUE THAT YOU ONLY BUY USED TRUCK TARPS?

FREITAG creates bags and accessories from used materials that spent their past life traversing the blacktop: seasoned truck tarps, discarded seatbelt straps, scuffed bicycle inner tubes and recycled airbags. The truck tarps that we get our hands on have racked up hundreds of thousands of miles on the road, which is perfect for how we want our bags to look.
After all, every piece of used truck tarp is imbued with its own unique characteristics. We’re especially drawn to matte, scratched surfaces and tarp where the PVC coating has caused frictional wear and tear.
That’s why we don’t buy any drop cloths, ad banners or tent tarps, even if the original material is identical to that of truck tarps.
 

HOW STRONG DOES THE TARP NEED TO BE?

We buy used truck tarps made from high-strength base fabric with a PVC coating (between 600g/m² and 900g/m²).
 

ARE THERE ANY TRUCK TARPS THAT YOU DON’T BUY?

Once disassembled, we wash the tarps in industrial machines. This means we can’t use any tarps that are partially covered with decals or that have been painted over. When producing our bags, we can’t use any tarps whose PVC coating has been rubbed off down to the textile itself, nor can we accept brittle or fragile tarps that have lost their elasticity. We unfortunately can’t use tamper-proof tarps (i.e. those with a protective mesh) either.
 

I HAVE TARPS WITH DIGITAL PRINTING. DO YOU BUY THESE AS WELL?

Yes, we have no problem with digitally printed tarps.

I HAVE TARPS WITH DESIGNS (LOGOS, ETC.) AND ONES WITHOUT. WHICH DO YOU PREFER?

Our products encompass a range of colors and patterns. We are happy to buy tarps with surfaces covered in markings, and we’re equally interested in plain tarps. It’s all about the blend!

GENERAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS

WHAT GUARANTEES DO I HAVE IN TERMS OF HOW MY TARPS ARE USED?

We use truck tarps to produce bags, and cut them so that any print designs and logos are no longer recognizable.

WHAT WILL YOU DO WITH MY TARPS IF YOU CAN’T USE THEM?

If your tarps fall short in terms of quality, we’ll dispose of and recycle them. If we receive too many tarps we can’t use (see our quality requirements above), we reserve the right to deduct the transport costs for the tarps from the purchase price.

ALSO GOOD TO KNOW

WHO HAVE YOU WORKED WITH IN THE PAST? WHAT KIND OF REFERENCES CAN YOU OFFER?

We work with the largest transport companies and manufacturers in Europe. Planzer (based in Switzerland) was one of the first companies to start supplying us with tarps – and it continues to do so on a regular basis.

CAN I TELL THE WORLD THAT I’M WORKING WITH FREITAG? AND HOW?

Of course. We’re happy for you to shout it from the rooftops. And we can provide you with all the tools you need (press releases, logos, etc.). Get in touch with us and ask away!

Kontakt Planeneinkauf

Möchtest du deine gebrauchten LKW-Planen an FREITAG verkaufen? 

Unsere asphalterprobten Truckspotter Claudia, Janina, Melanie und Neziye werden deinen Planen neues Leben einhauchen, damit diese schon bald wieder fröhlich in den Städten dieser Welt unterwegs sind – als Taschen und Accessoires.

Schreibe uns doch Genaueres zu deinen Planen und wir melden uns schnell wie ein paneuropäischer Express-LKW bei dir.

Kontakt Schweiz & Österreich: 
Claudia Hefti - +41 43 210 32 79 - claudia.hefti@freitag.ch

Kontakt Deutschland: 
Melanie della Rocca - +49 176 215749 91 - melanie.dellarocca@freitag.ch
Janina Kottwitz +41 43 210 32 71 - janina.kottwitz@freitag.ch

CHASING THE F-RAINBOW

Claudia hat einen Job, den es nur bei FREITAG gibt. Jedes Jahr zieht sie zusammen mit ihren Truckspotter-Kolleginnen über 6'700 LKWs die ausgedienten Planen aus. Wie das geht und warum sie dabei auch noch wählerisch ist, erzählt sie dir hier gleich selbst.

CLAUDIAS STORY

 

Häufig gestellte Fragen

WAS SIND MEINE VORTEILE?

Eine ganze Menge: deine Entsorgungskosten sinken, du verbesserst deine Umweltbilanz und verlängerst den Lebenszyklus eines robusten Materials. Und ganz nebenbei wird noch etwas in deine Kasse gespült.

WIE VIEL KANN ICH FÜR MEINE PLANEN ERWARTEN?

Unsere Preise variieren je nach Farbe der Plane, nach deren Gewicht, nach deren Aussehen usw. Unsere Preise verstehen sich pro Kilogramm verwendbarem Material. Der endgültige Preis hängt vom Endgewicht, das in unserer Fabrik festgestellt wird, ab. Aus Erfahrung gehen wir davon aus, dass 50% des uns gelieferten Gewichts für unsere Zwecke verwendbar ist.

Schreib uns oder ruf uns an, wir unterbreiten dir gerne eine erste ungefähre Offerte.

KANN ICH EINE BESTÄTIGUNG ERHALTEN, WELCHE MEINE ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT FREITAG ATTESTIERT?

Ja, eine solche Bestätigung kannst du gerne bei uns anfordern.

SO FUNKTIONIERT’S

WER ORGANISIERT DIE LIEFERUNG DER PLANEN?

Wir übernehmen die Organisation des Transportes sowie die Verzollung mit unserem lokalen Partner. 

WIE IST DER ABLAUF DER ABHOLUNG UND DER LIEFERUNG DER PLANEN?

Nach Erhalt deiner Bestätigung, dass die Planen bereitstehen, organisieren wir die Abholung mit unserem lokalen Partner. Unser Partner nimmt dann mit dir Kontakt auf, um das genaue Abholdatum zu vereinbaren. Nach einigen Tagen werden die Planen in unsere Fabrik in Zürich geliefert.

WIEVIELE PLANEN MUSS ICH FÜR EINE ABHOLUNG MINDESTENS BEREITSTELLEN?

Wir organisieren den Transport ab einer oder zwei Paletten, je nach Distanz zwischen dir und unserer Fabrik in Zürich. Aus Erfahrung wissen wir, dass auf eine Palette des Typs EPAL-EPAL bis zu vier oder fünf Planen passen.

WIE SIND DIE PLANEN ZU VERPACKEN?

Um die Handhabung der Paletten zu erleichtern, bitten wir dich, die Planen gut festzubinden, am besten mit Gurten oder Bändern auf einer oder mehreren Paletten vom Typ EPAL-EPAL (80 x 120 cm, max. 600 kg pro Palette). Wir erhalten mehrere Lieferungen pro Tag. Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass du die Paletten mit deinem (Firmen)namen beschriftest.

ICH MÖCHTE MEINE PALETTEN WIEDER ZURÜCK ERHALTEN. IST PALETTENTAUSCH MÖGLICH?

Ja, falls es sich um Paletten des Typs EPAL-EPAL handelt. In diesem Fall können wir bei der Abholung der Planen einen Austausch der Paletten organisieren. Gib uns bei der Bereitstellung der Planen einfach an, ob du tauschen möchtest. 

WIE LÄUFT DIE BEZAHLUNG MEINER LIEFERUNG AB?

Nach Ankunft der Planen in unserer Fabrik in Zürich zerlegen wir sie und entfernen die Ösen und Gurten. Wir entfernen ausserdem alle unbrauchbaren, mürben oder brüchigen Stellen. Die zur Herstellung unserer Taschen verwertbaren Teile werden anschliessend nach Farbe gewogen. Gemäss den in unserer anfänglichen Offerte festgelegten Einheitspreise erstellen wir eine genaue Zahlungsanzeige. Der Betrag wird direkt auf dein Bankkonto überwiesen. 

ICH MÖCHTE IN BAR BEZAHLT WERDEN. IST DAS MÖGLICH?

Nein. Wir bezahlen unsere Lieferanten nur per Banküberweisung, auf Rechnung oder gemäss Zahlungsanweisung unsererseits.

QUALITÄTSANFORDERUNGEN

KAUFT IHR WIRKLICH NUR GEBRAUCHTE LKW-PLANEN?

FREITAG stellt Taschen und Accessoires aus gebrauchten Materialien her, die auf der Strasse zu Hause waren: weitgereiste LKW-Planen, ausrangierte Autogurte, abgewetzte Fahrradschläuche und rezyklierte Airbags. Die LKW-Planen die wir kaufen, zeigen einige Hunderttausend Kilometer auf dem Zähler an und entsprechen genau dem Image unserer Taschen. Die Merkmale, die eine gebrauchte LKW-Plane aufweist, sind sehr charakteristisch. Das matte und zerkratzte Aussehen sowie die Abnutzung durch Reibung der PVC-Beschichtung interessieren uns ganz besonders.

Deshalb kaufen wir keine Abdeck-, Werbe- oder Zeltplanen, auch wenn das ursprüngliche Material mit den LKW-Planen identisch ist.

WELCHE PLANENSTÄRKE BRAUCHT IHR?

Wir kaufen gebrauchte LKW-Planen aus hochfestem Grundgewebe und einer PVC-Beschichtung von 600g/m² bis 900g/m².

GIBT ES LKW-PLANEN, DIE IHR NICHT KAUFT?

Einmal zerlegt, werden die Planen in industriellen Maschinen gewaschen. Deshalb können wir sowohl Planen, die teilweise mit Aufklebern bedeckt oder mit Farbe übermalt sind, nicht verwenden. Sowohl Planen, deren PVC-Beschichtung bis zum Textilgewebe abgenutzt sind, als auch mürbe oder brüchige Planen, welche die Geschmeidigkeit verloren haben, sind als Taschenmaterial ungeeignet. Einbruchsichere Planen (Diebstahlschutzgitter) sind für uns leider ebenfalls unbrauchbar.

ICH HABE PLANEN MIT DIGITALDRUCK. KAUFT IHR SOLCHE AUCH?

Ja, wir kaufen auch Planen mit Digitaldruck.

ICH HABE PLANEN MIT UND OHNE DESIGN (SCHRIFTZÜGE U.Ä.). WELCHE INTERESSIEREN EUCH?

Unsere Produkte werden aus verschiedenen Farben und Mustern hergestellt. Wir kaufen gerne Planen, die auf der ganzen Oberfläche markiert sind. Aber wir sind auch an einfarbigen Planen interessiert. Die richtige Mischung macht's! 

ALLGEMEINE BEDINGUNGEN

WAS SIND MEINE GARANTIEN IN BEZUG AUF DEN GEBRAUCH MEINER PLANEN?

Wir stellen Taschen aus deinen LKW-Planen her. Die Planen werden so zugeschnitten, dass Drucke und Logos nicht mehr erkennbar sind.

WAS MACHT IHR MIT MEINEN PLANEN, WENN IHR SIE NICHT VERWENDEN KÖNNT?

Falls deine Planen nicht den notwendigen Qualitätsmerkmalen entsprechen, kümmern wir uns um deren Entsorgung und Wiederverwertung. Erhalten wir zu oft unbrauchbare Materialien (siehe oben erwähnte Qualitätsmerkmale), behalten wir uns das Recht vor, die Transportkosten der Planen vom Einkaufspreis abzuziehen.

NOCH MEHR INFOS

MIT WEM HABT IHR SCHON ZUSAMMEN GEARBEITET? WELCHE REFERENZEN HABT IHR?

Wir arbeiten mit den grössten europäischen Transporteuren und Konfektionären. So war zum Beispiel die Firma Planzer mit Sitz in der Schweiz einer unserer ersten Lieferanten und liefert uns weiterhin regelmässig gebrauchte Planen.

DARF ICH MEINE ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT FREITAG KOMMUNIZIEREN? WIE?

Ja. Selbstverständlich darfst du mit der Zusammenarbeit mit FREITAG werben. Gerne stellen wir dir dafür verschiedene Tools zur Verfügung (Mitteilungen, Logos usw.). Einfach anfragen!