Image
f-abric_resources_field

F-ABRIC IS GROWN IN EUROPE

 

If you want to make biodegradable clothing in your own neighborhood, you’ve got to go back to the beginning of the development process and start with the fibers.

 

In our quest for the right raw materials, we ran into two old acquaintances and one new one.

Image
linen plants f-abric resource

LINEN

 

Linen (also known as flax) is the oldest textile fiber in the world. It’s also an economical jack-of-all-trades. The fibers are extracted from the bast, the tissue under the plant’s bark. Linen fibers are comfortable to wear thanks to their cooling effect, and they’re extremely durable. Farming flax requires quite a bit of know-how, but the good news is that it doesn’t need a lot of fertilizer or pesticides, or additional irrigation. It grows best in temperate climate zones.

Image
hemp f-abric resource

HEMP

 

Hemp fibers are versatile, easy to care for, and virtually perfect. They’re warm, breathable, and extremely strong, which is why hemp has been embraced by so many cultures for thousands of years. Hemp fibers are extracted from the plant’s bast. The plant thrives in almost any climate, doesn’t need much water or any pesticides and doesn’t deplete agricultural soil.

Image
modal_resource_f-abric

MODAL


Modal is a fiber whose properties are quite similar to those of cotton. It’s made from cellulose that has been extracted from beechwood. First, beechwood shavings are dissolved in acid and then the cellulose is extracted, processed into a viscous pulp, and spun into threads. Beech trees are selfpropagating, which means no planting is required to produce Modal.


THE F-LAX FARMER FAMILY


The sixth generation of the Cabot family farms its flax fields for linen production in Normandy as it has for 90 years. They know their fields and their soil better than anyone else, but every season is a new game. Each fiber is unique, every year is different – that is the nature of natural fibers.

Image
Cabots_family_f-abric_resources

Image
f-abric_resources_field

F-ABRIC IST IN EUROPA GEWACHSEN

 

Wer biologisch abbaubare Kleider in der Nachbarschaft machen will, muss zurück an den Anfang der Entwicklungskette und ­wieder mit der Faser beginnen.

 

Auf der Suche nach den ­geeigneten Rohstoffen stiessen wir auf zwei alte und einen neuen Bekannten.

Image
linen plants f-abric resource

LEINEN


Leinen (auch als Flachs bezeichnet) ist ein sparsamer Alleskönner und der älteste Textilrohstoff der Welt. Gewonnen werden die Fasern aus dem Stängel der Pflanze. Leinenfasern verfügen über einen kühlenden Charakter, sind angenehm zu tragen und extrem robust. Der Flachsanbau erfordert zwar viel Erfahrung, dafür aber wenig Dünger, Pestizide und keine zusätzliche Bewässerung. Am besten gedeiht er in gemässigten Klimaregionen.

Image
hemp f-abric resource

HANF

 

Hanffasern sind vielseitig, pflegeleicht und nahezu perfekt. Die Faser ist von Natur aus atmungsaktiv, extrem robust und warm und wird darum schon seit Jahrtausenden in verschiedenen Kulturen als Nutzpflanze geschätzt. Gewonnen werden Hanffasern aus dem Bast der Pflanze. Diese gedeiht in fast allen klimatischen Zonen, verfügt über einen geringen Wasserbedarf und kommt ganz ohne Pestizid aus.

Image
modal_resource_f-abric

MODAL


Modal ist eine synthetisch hergestellte Faser mit natürlichem Ursprung, welche über ähnliche Eigenschaften wie Baumwolle verfügt. Rohstoff für die Gewinnung der Zellulose sind Buchenholzspäne. Diese werden in Säure aufgelöst, die entzogene Zellulose zu einem Viskosebrei verarbeitet und zu Faden verspinnt. Da Buchen ihren Bestand eigenständig kontrollieren und ausgleichen, brauchen sie für die Modal-Gewinnung nicht eigens gezüchtet werden.


THE F-LAX FARMER FAMILY


Die Cabots bewirtschaften jetzt schon in der sechsten Generation ihre Flachsfelder in der Normandie, das macht 90 Jahre Leinenkultivation. Nach 90 Jahren kennen sie ihre Felder und ihre Erde, aber Flachs ist immer anders und so lernen sie immer noch etwas dazu. Keine Faser ist wie die andere, kein Jahr wie das letzte - das ist die Natur der Naturfaser.

Image
Cabots_family_f-abric_resources