For our 25th birthday, we’re giving ourselves nothing less than a happier world. And we’re relying on you to come up with an idea and a plan for how to make this happen in 2019. 

It all started in a flatshare in Zurich in 1993 with a dirty, discarded truck tarp and an old sewing machine. Twenty-five years later, with over 4’000’000 unique bags made of tarps from more than 85’000 trucks and around 12’000 biodegradable pairs of pants, the SME now employs over 200 F-Workers, has fantastic F-ans all over the globe and continues to grow on a sustainable basis.

No one can really say how much luck was – and perhaps still is – involved. But after a quarter of a century of an economy planned around tarps, FREITAG knows one thing for sure: that life is about a lot more than plans. Or tarps. 

«Imagine everyone's happy and it's all your fault. »

That's why we're celebrating our first quarter-century not with a special jubilee edition bag or by making the Solar Impulse our corporate jet, but with the bonus point in the FREITAG manifesto: «Happiness is cyclical». We'd like to say thank you and put as much happiness back into the cycle as possible. In the hope that some of it rubs off on as many people as possible all over the world and beyond the FREITAG customer cosmos. Fully aware that happiness is more likely to find its way back the more of it there is in circulation. 


That’s why we want you to take on the following role: 

EXECUTIVE VICE PLEASIDENT FOR GLOBAL HAPPINESS

In your joint roles as happiness innovator, HX designer, global serotonin dispenser and happy controller, you’ll work to increase the global level of happiness over the long term, try to reach as many people as possible and keep an eye on how well your activities are being received.

YOUR DUTIES

As the EXECUTIVE VICE PLEASIDENT FOR GLOBAL HAPPINESS (EVP GH), you’ll develop and carry out campaigns and initiatives that bring joy and contentment to as many people around the world as possible. Other tasks include keeping an eye on the impact that your activities are having, working hard to get your message across and – if possible – laying strong foundations so that happy vibes continue to be sent out even without your input. That means forming alliances with others, creating networks and turning your efforts into a bona fide movement that people can get behind.

WHAT WE EXPECT FROM YOU

For this position, we aren’t interested in how well you did at school or what grades you managed to get. What we want to see is the way you spread joy, what your plans are for promoting positivity and why you in particular are the right person for the job. You see, we spread happiness through our bags – but we’re counting on you to do the rest.

YOUR WORKLOAD AND WORKING HOURS

Your time in the role, workload, place of work and the additional resources you need all depend on your idea and how you’re going to go about putting it into practice. You could spend every morning sitting at a desk at our headquarters for nine months straight, work for an hour each evening from a different location entirely, or even manage to pull off your grand plan in just a couple of days with fantastic results – we don’t mind. You decide.

The only condition we have is that you should get the ball rolling in 2019 – our anniversary year. We’ve already put around CHF 100,000 aside for you to use as you see fit.

PLEASE APPLY UNTIL DECEMBER 25

The essentials: we want to hear your definition of happiness along with your idea and your plan for spreading joy. 

All we need from you by way of an application is a video (no more than two minutes in length), as well as up to 1,000 characters in the fields provided in the application tool. Give us a brief overview of your idea, your plan and what you need to carry it out. In other words, we want to know where, how and approximately when it will take place, how long you need to arrange it all and – most importantly – how many people you will make happy in the process. 

All applications (video and written sections) should be in German or English and uploaded until December 25.


ARE YOU SERIOUS ABOUT THIS?

Click here for an answer to this question and others.

Zum 25. Geburtstag schenken wir uns eine glücklichere Welt und suchen dazu dich mit einer Idee und einem Plan, damit wir das im Jubiläumsjahr hinkriegen. 

Was 1993 in einer WG an der Hardbrücke mit einer dreckigen, ausrangierten LKW-Plane und einer alten Nähmaschine begann, ist in 25 Jahren mit über 4’000’000 Taschenunikaten aus Planen von über 85’000 Lastwagen und etwa 12’000 kompostierbaren Hosen zu einem 200-F-Worker starken KMU mit fantastischen F-ans auf der ganzen Welt geworden, das immer noch nachhaltig weiterwächst.

Wie viel Glück dabei im Spiel war und immer noch ist, kann niemand genau sagen, aber nach einem Vierteljahrhundert Planenwirtschaft weiss FREITAG genau, um was es im Leben wirklich geht: um mehr als Planen.

«Stell dir vor, alle sind glücklich und du bist schuld daran.»

Deshalb feiern wir das erste Vierteljahrhundert weder mit einer Special-Jubiläums-Taschen-Edition noch mit der Solar Impulse als Firmenjet, sondern mit dem Bonuspunkt des FREITAG Manifests «Happiness is cyclical». Wir möchten Danke sagen und möglichst viel Glück in den Kreislauf zurückgeben, sodass möglichst viele Menschen auf der ganzen Welt und über den FREITAG Kundenkosmos hinaus etwas davon abkriegen – auch im Wissen, dass das Glück desto eher wieder zurückfindet, je mehr davon in Umlauf ist.


Darum suchen wir Verstärkung und zwar dich als: 

EXECUTIVE VICE PLEASIDENT FOR GLOBAL HAPPINESS

In deinen Rollen Happiness Innovator, HX Designer, Global Serotonin Server sowie Happy Controller sorgst du für die nachhaltige, weltweite Glückssteigerung und bist verantwortlich für deren Entwicklung, Umsetzung und Erfolgskontrolle. 

DARUM GEHT’S:

Als EXECUTIVE VICE PLEASIDENT FOR GLOBAL HAPPINESS (EVP GH) entwickelst und realisierst du Aktionen und Initiativen, die möglichst viele Menschen auf der ganzen Welt etwas glücklicher und zufriedener machen. Darüber hinaus bist auch für die Erfolgskontrolle deines Tuns verantwortlich, hältst beim Kommunizieren der Aktion deinen Kopf hin und sorgst im Idealfall sogar noch dafür, dass sich das Glück auch nach deinem Engagement von alleine weiter vermehrt, d.h. du schmiedest Allianzen, knüpfst Netzwerke und startest mit deinem Wirken sowas wie ‘eine Bewegung’.

DAS BRINGST DU MIT

Wie gut du in der Schule warst und welche Examen du mit welchen Noten bestanden hast, ist uns völlig egal. Wie und womit du das Glück verteilen und streuen willst und warum ausgerechnet dir das gelingen soll, interessiert uns viel mehr. Denn davon haben wir selbst ausserhalb des Taschengeschäftes keinen blassen Dunst. 

SO VIEL UND SO LANGE ARBEITEST DU

Ob du nun neun Monate lang jeden Vormittag bei uns im Hauptquartier am Schreibtisch sitzt, jeden Abend in einer anderen Stadt eine Stunde lang im Glückseinsatz stehst oder alles in ein paar Tagen erledigt ist und alle glücklich sind: Die Dauer der Anstellung, das Pensum, der Arbeitsort und welche zusätzlichen Ressourcen benötigt werden, hängen von deiner Idee und deiner Herangehensweise ab und sind noch völlig offen.

Fest steht nur, dass dein Einsatz irgendwann im Jubiläumsjahr 2019 erfolgen soll und wir für dich und deinen Bereich schon einmal um die CHF 100'000 auf die Seite gelegt haben.

BEWERBEN

Deine Definition von Glück und vor allem deine Idee und dein Plan, wie du es verteilen willst, sind somit der Kern deiner Bewerbung. 

Diese erzählst du uns einfach in einem maximal zweiminütigen Bewerbungsvideo. Dann tippst du noch maximal 1000 Buchstaben in die Felder im Bewerbungstool und gibst uns einen Kurzabriss deiner Idee, deines Plans und was du alles dazu brauchst. Also wo, wie und etwa wann das alles stattfinden soll, wie lange du dafür brachst – und vor allem, wie viele Leute du damit glücklich machst. 

Bewerbungen (Video und Kurzbewerbung) müssen in Deutsch oder Englisch erfolgen.


Meint ihr das ernst?

Diese und weitere Fragen beantworten wir hier.