In early 2015, we began to radically change how our organization works. Read on to find out what our aims were, how the transformation took shape and why we ended up adopting the Holacracy method.

Since 1993, FREITAG has progressively grown – sometimes at breakneck speed, but generally very healthily, going from a two-man operation to an SME with a 200-strong F-crew. As we continued to develop models, conquer markets and sell ever more bags, FREITAG’s inner workings became increasingly complex. Despite the fact that many things remained unorthodox, the company soon evolved from a startup founded by students into an organization with a traditional structure, i.e. a CEO, management board and departments covering the various stages of the production process. We didn’t know it at the time, but this planted the seed for organizational problems at FREITAG further down the line.

At some point, we realized that our organizational structure and many of our processes had become cumbersome and slow. And with our market environment changing more and more rapidly, we were unable to adapt with the speed and flexibility that we wanted to. How had this happened?


WANT TO GIVE YOUR EYES A REST?

Pascal tells the whole story in this podcast, too.


Over the years, our traditional hierarchical organizational structure meant that the board made most of the decisions with no input from the specialists in the departments themselves. The small management board became a bottleneck and our specialists were getting frustrated. 

The result was that the departments were increasingly adopting a silo mentality: instead of direct cooperation between specialists in different departments, work had to go up the hierarchical ladder to the heads of department before going back down to the specialists. This meant that interdisciplinary roles such as product managers found it difficult to achieve their goals, since they had to go through virtually the entire company to get there. 

Markus and Daniel Freitag – the founders and owners of our company – were never keen on traditional management roles. As trained set and graphic designers, their passion always lay in the creative side of things. As time went by, it became a challenge for them to find their own place in the company they had founded. Over the years, we gradually realized that if we wanted to enjoy our work and be successful economically, we needed to turn our organization on its head.  

Alpha, Beta, …

In early 2015, we began to radically change how our organization works. We wanted to do away with hierarchically organized departments that always mechanically churned out the same work. So we focused on organizing the company like a city, with functional, self-contained cells driven by passion.

What fascinated us when looking at cities was that in general, the productivity of each resident increases when a city doubles in size. The opposite seemed to be the case for companies: the larger an enterprise becomes, the more its general productivity falls. 

Our goal was to work with the entire F-crew to turn FREITAG into a culturally vibrant, productive and liveable city that would be a fantastic place for residents, visitors and the surroundings alike – a place where people would want to stay and which would exude global appeal.

That’s why we replaced our conventional organization chart with a cityscape. We didn’t delay in disbanding the management board, either. This had two outcomes: it resolved the bottleneck the board had created and established a culture of empowerment among the F-crew. Instead of the board we created self-contained cells (envisaged as buildings in our cityscape) and a meeting structure whose purpose was to include all key stakeholders of a particular topic in the decision-making process. This structure meant that there was no longer any need for a CEO to issue instructions left and right. The former members of the management board started to see themselves as coaches rather than bosses from that point on. We settled on a simple name for our new organizational model: ‘Beta’.

«Transparent communication is essential for self-organization.»

We drew up a company-wide action plan to guide us through the process and to make it clear to employees how we were planning to transform FREITAG. We took all internal points of view into consideration when preparing the plan. Once it was ready, the entire company was tasked with following it. Following the cityscape analogy, the plan took on the role of the market square, and we dedicated an area in our factory to it. 

... Holacracy

Our journey on the road to becoming a self-governing organization was off to a very good start. Even so, the transformation required a great deal of energy – so much that we lost this initial momentum after just a few months. There were still so many questions to which we had no satisfactory answers: How were people expected to advance their careers without traditional career paths? If there are no more bosses, who would be responsible for training the team? How could we make our meetings more efficient? What policies should the city follow as it continues to develop? 

It was clear that there must be others who had tackled these issues before us. And as we looked for organizational approaches that would allow us to divide up responsibility, streamline decision-making processes, dismantle hierarchies and increase agility, we stumbled upon the Holacracy method. After researching it extensively, we took the decision in September 2016 to adopt Holacracy as FREITAG’s organizational operating system. 

«Holacracy won us over due to its ability to distribute authority across the company in the form of roles instead of putting it in the hands of a few supervisors and managers.»

That means the organizational structure isn’t fixed; clear processes allow all employees to adapt the system to their requirements whenever they need to. And thanks to structured meetings, these interdependent roles can be synchronized efficiently and regularly.

Roles are defined according to the activities that help the company survive and thrive. Related roles are organized into circles, and each circle and role has a purpose that supports the aspirations of the company as a whole. We assign responsibilities to these circles and roles depending on their purpose.

A HIERARCHY OF SPECIALISTS

The circles and the employees in the various roles make decisions based on their responsibilities. Just because there are no individual supervisors and managers doesn’t mean Holacracy does away with hierarchy entirely. Quite the opposite: Holacracy is a deeply hierarchical system, but one that consistently revolves around expert roles. This way, the hierarchy is distributed across the entire organization and every member of the team can change it via the governance processes whenever they wish. That’s why our organizational chart below states that it was last updated at 2:35 pm on 17 April 2019. Tonight, it might look already look very different.

Circles generally come with two key roles that serve as a kind of liaison to the next circle up in the hierarchy. The ‘Lead Link’ role involves introducing information to the circle, setting priorities and filling roles. The role of a ‘Rep Link’ is to communicate requests from the circle to other circles. One example is to lift any restrictions resulting from the governance processes introduced by the next highest circle. 

Other standard roles in a circle are ‘Facilitator’ and ‘Secretary’, which come into play during meetings. 

Tactical meetings focus on synchronizing the circle’s members by getting them to exchange information and setting out next steps (as required) so that they can get to work on overcoming the associated challenges.

The aim of governance meetings, by contrast, is to optimize the organizational structure by creating, suspending or amending roles, circles and policies (guidelines for collaboration). 

An inclusive decision-making process enables us to keep tweaking the organizational structure, as it permits circle members to raise objections to proposals for change and, in turn, allows the validity of such objections to be checked based on a clearly defined workflow. Valid objections are then integrated into the proposals.

REACTIONS IN THE PRESS (GERMAN)

A NEVER-ENDING JOURNEY

Has the system proved to be everything we wished for? What were the key elements behind the successful transformation? Looking at things now, what are the benefits of Holacracy? What were the greatest challenges? 

We can now say for sure that adopting the Holacracy model was the right decision. With its clearly defined rules, this prefabricated organizational system enabled us to sidestep a host of unanswered questions that arose in response to the ‘Beta’ organization we set up ourselves. Looking back now, though, the ‘Beta’ experiment was an important first step as it made us aware of the challenges associated with establishing a self-governing organization. 

It was also definitely worth seeking help from outside the company to assist with the initial adoption of the Holacracy model. For the first few months, consultants from Dwarfs & Giants served as a neutral point of contact for any doubts, questions or uncertainties surrounding the process. 

«The evolution toward a self-governing organization is far from over. We still have much to do.»

While the road is filled with ups and downs, we will not deviate from it. We don’t yet know where we will end up or how Holacracy will continue to evolve at FREITAG. What we do know is that we now have rules and processes in place that are designed to help us keep developing. The ‘functional, self-contained cells driven by passion’ that we once envisioned on paper are now a reality. 

In this context agility means more than just getting employees to deal with changes – it is about laying the foundations so they can initiate changes themselves for the good of the company.

ANY QUESTIONS?

We didn’t know the public would be so interested in our decision to switch to the Holacracy method. As a result, we’re a little overwhelmed by all the questions and requests that are coming our way. After all, our business is making bags and clothes – despite our penchant for agile organizational structures.
Still, we’d like to respond to this interest properly, which is we will be inviting people to our FREITAG F-actory in the NŒRD building from time to time. If you come by, we will explain to you (in German) about how we came to adopt Holacracy and answer as many of your questions as possible.

Please fill in this form if you are interested.

FIND OUT MORE ABOUT FREITAG

Anfang 2015 begannen wir damit, unsere Organisation radikal zu verändern. Hier erfährst du, wie es dazu kam, wie unsere Transformation verlief, und wie wir schliesslich bei Holacracy angekommen sind.

Seit 1993 ist FREITAG kontinuierlich, mal mehr, mal weniger rasant und insgesamt sehr gesund von einer Zweierkiste zu einem 200 F-Workers starken KMU gewachsen. Je mehr Modelle entwickelt, je mehr Märkte erobert, je mehr Taschen verkauft wurden, desto mehr nahm die Komplexität innerhalb von FREITAG zu. Auch wenn über die Jahre Vieles unkonventionell blieb: Das einstige Studenten-Start-Up war bald ganz klassisch organisiert, mit CEO, Geschäftsleitung und Abteilungen, die sich entlang des Fertigungsprozesses formierten. Unversehens nahm FREITAG damit Kurs auf organisatorische Probleme, die uns Jahre später einholen sollten.

Irgendwann stellten wir nämlich fest, dass unsere Organisationsstruktur und viele unserer Abläufe umständlich und träge geworden waren. Während sich unser Marktumfeld zunehmend schneller veränderte, war unsere Anpassungsfähigkeit geschrumpft. Was war passiert?


Keine Lust, weiterzulesen?

Pascal hat das alles auch mal in diesem Podcast erzählt.


Die klassisch hierarchische Organisationsstruktur hatte über die Jahre dazu geführt, dass viele Entscheidungen in der Geschäftsleitung getroffen wurden, obwohl dafür eigentlich Spezialisten in den Abteilungen sassen. Das kleine Gremium der Geschäftsleitung war zum Flaschenhals geworden, und die Spezialisten waren frustriert. 

Dazu kam, dass die Abteilungen zunehmend wie Silos funktionierten: Anstelle der direkten abteilungsübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit von Spezialisten blieb oft nur der Umweg über die Hierarchieleiter hoch zu den Abteilungsleitern und wieder runter zu den Spezialisten. Interdisziplinär agierende Rollen wie die Produktmanager hatten es schwer, auf ihrem Weg quer durchs Unternehmen zum Ziel zu kommen. 

Markus und Daniel Freitag haben als Gründer und Inhaber unserer Firma nie eine Leidenschaft für die klassischen Manager-Jobs entwickelt. Als gelernte Dekorationsgestalter und Grafiker lagen ihnen die kreativen Prozessen schon immer näher. Gleichzeitig waren sie dadurch über die Jahre immer wieder auf der Suche nach ihrem Platz in der eigenen Firma. Über die Jahre reifte so die Erkenntnis, dass wir unsere Organisation fundamental umkrempeln mussten, um langfristig Freude an der Arbeit und wirtschaftlichen Erfolg zu haben.  

Alpha, Beta, …

Anfang 2015 begannen wir damit, unsere Organisation radikal zu verändern. Weg von hierarchisch organisierten Abteilungen, die wie eine Maschine auf die Verrichtung der immer gleichen Arbeit getrimmt sind. Hin zu einem Aufbau nach dem Vorbild einer Stadt, mit funktionalen, beherzt geführten und selbstorganisierten Zellen.

Am Bild der Stadt faszinierte uns, dass man gemeinhin von einem Anstieg der Produktivität pro Einwohner*in ausgeht, wenn eine Stadt ihre Grösse verdoppelt. Bei Unternehmen schien es genau umgekehrt zu sein: je grösser ein Unternehmen, desto geringer die Produktivität. 

Unser Ziel war es, FREITAG gemeinsam mit allen F-Workers zu einer kulturell spannenden, produktiven, lebenswerten Stadt zu entwickeln, die für ihre Bewohner, ihre Besucher und ihre Umgebung einen wunderbaren Ort darstellt, an dem man sich gerne aufhält, und der weltweite Ausstrahlung hat.

Also lösten wir unser klassisches Organigramm durch ein Stadtbild ab. Und um den Flaschenhals der Geschäftsleitung zu eliminieren und gleichzeitig ein starkes Zeichen für das «Empowerment» der F-Workers zu setzen, schafften wir die Geschäftsleitung kurzerhand ab. An ihre Stelle traten die genannten selbstorganisierten Zellen - in unserem Stadtbild wurden sie zu Gebäuden - und eine Meeting-Struktur, die alle wichtigen Stakeholder eines Themas in den Entscheidungsprozess einzubinden versuchte. Die Rolle eines weisungsbefugten CEO's wurde damit überflüssig, und die ehemaligen Mitglieder der Geschäftsleitung verstanden sich fortan nicht mehr als Chefs, sondern als Coaches. Unser neues Organisationsmodell nannten wir schlicht «Beta».

«Transparente Kommunikation ist eine zentrale Voraussetzung für Selbstorganisation.»

Damit alle Mitarbeitenden verstanden, in welche Richtung sich FREITAG entwickeln sollte, wurde ein unternehmensweiter Vorgehensplan zum zentralen Steuerungselement. Alle internen Perspektiven waren fortan in die Erarbeitung dieses Plans eingebunden, auf den sich anschliessend das ganze Unternehmen ausrichtete. In Analogie zum Marktplatz der Stadt bekam er seine eigene Fläche in unserer Fabrik. 

... Holacracy

Unserer Reise Richtung Selbstorganisation war vielversprechend gestartet. Gleichzeitig verlangte die Transformation viel Energie, so viel, dass uns der anfängliche Schwung nach einigen Monaten abhanden kam. Viele Fragen blieben so ungelöst: Wie verlaufen Karrieren ohne klassische Karriereleiter? Wer qualifiziert, wenn es keine Chefs mehr gibt? Wie gestalten wir unserer Meetings effizienter? Nach welchen Regeln entwickelt sich die Stadt weiter? 

Dass wir mit diesen Fragen nicht allein sein konnten, schien uns klar. Auf der Suche nach organisatorischen Wegen, um Autorität zu verteilen, Entscheidungsprozesse zu vereinfachen, Hierarchien abzubauen und die Agilität zu erhöhen, stiessen wir schliesslich auf Holacracy. Und nachdem wir uns eingehender damit auseinandergesetzt hatten, entschieden wir uns im September 2016, Holacracy als organisatorisches Betriebssystem bei FREITAG einzuführen. 

«Überzeugt hatte uns, dass Holacracy Autorität quer durch die ganze Firma in Form von Rollen verteilt, anstatt sie bei persönlichen Vorgesetzten zu bündeln.»

Die Organisationsstruktur ist nicht starr, sondern alle Mitarbeitenden können sie mittels klarer Prozesse fortwährend den Bedürfnissen anpassen. Und strukturierte Meetings sorgen für eine regelmässige, effiziente Synchronisation der voneinander abhängigen Rollen.

Die Tätigkeiten, die für das Bestehen eines Unternehmens wichtig sind, werden in Form von Rollen formuliert. Zusammengehörige Rollen werden in Form von Kreisen organisiert. Kreise und Rollen haben jeweils einen Purpose (Zweck), der sich am übergeordneten Purpose des Unternehmens orientiert. Ausgehend von ihrem Purpose, werden Kreisen und Rollen Verantwortlichkeiten zugeschrieben.

Hierarchie der Spezialisten

Rolleninhaber und Kreise treffen Entscheidungen im Rahmen ihrer Verantwortlichkeiten. Dass es keine persönlichen Vorgesetzten oder Chefs mehr gibt, heisst aber nicht, dass Holacracy ohne Hierarchie ist, im Gegenteil: Holacracy ist stark hierarchisch, aber konsequent aus fachlichen Rollen heraus. Die Hierarchie ist also über das ganze Unternehmen verteilt. Und alle Beteiligten können sie jederzeit über den Governance Prozess verändern. Der Stand unseres Organigramms, das du gleich unterhalb siehst, ist deshalb auch genau von 17.04.2019, um 14:35 Uhr. Heute abend sieht alles vielleicht schon ganz anders aus.

Kreise verfügen standardmässig über zwei Kernrollen, die sie mit dem nächsthöheren Kreis verbinden: Die Rolle «Lead Link» trägt Informationen in den Kreis hinein, setzt Prioritäten und besetzt Rollen. Die Rolle «Rep Link» trägt Begehren aus dem Kreis nach aussen und hat beispielsweise die Aufgabe, Einschränkungen aufzuheben, die aus der Governance des nächsthöheren Kreises resultieren. 

Zusätzlich verfügen die Kreise standardmässig über die Rollen «Facilitator» und «Secretary», die bei den Meetings zum Einsatz kommen: 

Im «Tactical Meeting» geht es darum, dass sich die Kreismitglieder synchronisieren, indem sie Informationen austauschen und gegebenenfalls nächste Schritte definieren, um die daraus entstehenden Herausforderungen anzugehen.

Im «Governance Meeting» geht es darum, die Organisationsstruktur zu optimieren, in dem Rollen, Kreise oder Policies (Richtlinien für die Zusammenarbeit) geschaffen, aufgelöst oder verändert werden. 

Die kontinuierliche Arbeit an der Organisationsstruktur folgt einem integrativen Entscheidungsprozess. Dieser erlaubt es den Kreismitgliedern, Einwände zu Veränderungsvorschlägen einzubringen und prüft nach einem klar definierten Ablauf die Validität dieser Einwände. Valide Einwände werden in die Vorschläge integriert.

Eine niemals endende Reise

Haben sich unsere Hoffnungen erfüllt? Welches waren für uns die wichtigsten Elemente für die erfolgreiche Transformation? Was sind aus heutiger Sicht die Vorteile von Holacracy? Und wo lagen die grössten Hürden? 

Der Entscheid, auf Holacracy zu setzen, scheint uns auch aus heutiger Sicht richtig. Das vorgefertigte Organisationssystem mit klaren Regeln befreite uns von einer Reihe ungeklärter Fragen, die aus der selbst initiierten «Beta»-Organisation entstanden waren. Rückblickend war das «Beta»-Experiment dennoch ein wichtiger erster Schritt, denn es sensibilisierte uns für die Herausforderungen von Selbstorganisation. 

Bewährt hat sich auch, während der Einführungsphase von Holacracy externe Hilfe beizuziehen: Um eine neutrale Instanz für Zweifel, Fragen und Unsicherheiten zu etablieren, liessen wir uns in den ersten Monaten von Berateri*innen der Agentur Dwarfs & Giants begleiten. 

«Die Transformation Richtung Selbstorganisation ist längst nicht abgeschlossen. Im Gegenteil!»

Die Transformation scheint uns heute als Weg, der mal steinig, mal blumig ist, aber immer weiterführt. Wo der Weg hinführt und wie sich Holacracy bei FREITAG weiter entwickeln wird, wissen wir nicht. Was wir aber wissen: Wir haben nun Regeln und Prozesse, die darauf ausgerichtet sind, dass wir uns laufend weiterentwickeln. Die einst proklamierten «funktionalen, beherzt geführten und selbstorganisierten Zellen» sind Wirklichkeit geworden. 

Agilität bedeutet in diesem Sinn nicht nur, dass Mitarbeitende mit Veränderungen umgehen können. Agilität bedeutet, dass Mitarbeitende Veränderungen selber initiieren, um uns weiterzubringen.

Noch Fragen?

Uns war nicht bewusst, wie viel öffentliches Interesse unser Entscheid für Holacracy wecken würde. Zurzeit überfordert es uns, allen Anfragen und Wünschen nachzukommen. Denn trotz unserer Begeisterung für agile Organisationsformen verdienen wir unser Geld weiterhin mit Taschen und Kleidern.
Um dem vielfältigen Interessen trotzdem einigermassen gerecht zu werden, laden wir euch hin und wieder die FREITAG F-abrik im NŒRD-Gebäude ein. Wir erzählen euch da von unserem Weg zu und mit Holacracy und beantworten möglichst viele von euren Fragen.

Bitte meldet euch über dieses Formular an, wenn ihr interessiert seid.

Mehr über FREITAG