F-ABRIC Apparel

NEWS ABOUT THE F-ABRIC OF THE FUTURE

We were actually just looking for suitable workwear for our employees, but then we realized that what we were looking for didn’t even exist – a tough, sustainably produced and compostable material made in Europe. So, we decided to develop our own textiles starting from the fiber up that would fulfill our requirements 100 % – and we decided to call them F-ABRIC:

F-ABRIC IS FROM EUROPE
The materials are made of the bast fibers hemp and flax as well as Modal, all of which are resources that are grown on European soil and do not harm it or require excessive amounts of water to grow. Compared to the production processes of more common textiles, the journey from fiber to finished product is just a short trip for F-ABRIC since all of the production stages take place within a 2500-kilometer radius of our factory in Zurich.

F-ABRIC IS HEALTHY
Whether for ecological or health reasons, no one likes to wear toxic clothing. That’s why as few chemicals as possible are used during the cultivation and further processing of F-ABRIC, meaning that F-ABRIC corresponds to Product Class I of the Oeko-Tex® Standard – you could even swaddle a baby in it without having to worry at all.

F-ABRIC IS FACTORY-PROOF
In order to develop and design products made of F-ABRIC, we assembled a small team of textiles experts. Their task: to develop clothing that would meet the demands of factory life and still look good. F-ABRIC was tested by the F-Crew for several months to prove its toughness, comfort, partying-ability and other qualities. The results? Very wearable!

F-ABRIC ROTS IN PEACE
Anyone who has to sorrowfully say goodbye to their F-ABRIC product after many happy years together doesn’t have to toss it in the trash but rather on the compost pile. F-ABRIC textiles are 100 % naturally biodegradable – including threads and selvage. A piece of clothing thus becomes fertile soil for new raw materials and the cycle continues.

ON THE ROAD TO F-ABRIC

Camera/Edit: Yves Scagliola, Music: Zigitros, Voice: Russell Hergert

 

A MOVING PIECE OF F-ABRIC

Media Overview

F-ABRIC Apparel

Neues aus dem Stoff der Zukunft

Eigentlich suchten wir nur nach geeigneten Arbeitskleidern für unsere Mitarbeiter. Dann merkten wir, dass wir nach etwas suchen, was es noch gar nicht gibt – einem robusten, konsequent nachhaltig produzierten und kompostierbaren Stoff, made in Europe. Darum haben wir unter dem Namen F-ABRIC von der Faser aus eigene Textilien entwickelt, die zu 100 % unseren Anforderungen entsprechen:

F-ABRIC KOMMT AUS EUROPA
Die Stoffe bestehen aus den Bastfasern Hanf und Leinen sowie aus Modal – alles Ressourcen, die auf europäischem Boden gewachsen sind. Und zwar ohne diesem zu schaden oder unnötig viel Wasser zu verbrauchen. Im Vergleich zu den Produktionswegen herkömmlicher Textilien ist die Reise von der Faser zum fertigen Produkt bei F-ABRIC ein Kurztrip, denn alle Produktionsschritte finden maximal 2’500 Kilometer entfernt von unserem Zuhause statt.

F-ABRIC LEBT GESUND
Sei es aus ökologischen oder gesundheitlichen Gründen – niemand trägt gerne giftige Kleider. Darum wird beim Anbau und der Weiterverarbeitung von F-ABRIC der Einsatz von Chemikalien so gering wie möglich gehalten. Das heisst: F-ABRIC entspricht der Produktklasse I des Oeko-Tex® Standards – man kann sogar bedenkenlos sein Baby damit einwickeln.

F-ABRIC GEHT NICHT OHNE FABRIK
Für die Produktentwicklung und das Design von F-ABRIC stellten wir bei FREITAG ein kleines Team aus Textilexperten zusammen. Der Auftrag: Kleidungsstücke, die den Anforderungen in der Fabrik entsprechen und dabei auch noch gut aussehen. Während mehrerer Monate wurde F-ABRIC von der F-Crew auf Robustheit, Tragekomfort, Partytauglichkeit und andere Qualitäten getestet. Das Ergebnis? Very wearable!

F-ABRIC VERROTTET IN FRIEDEN
Wer sich schweren Herzens nach vielen glücklichen Jahren von seinem F-ABRIC Produkt trennt, wirft es nicht in den Müll, sondern auf den Kompost. F-ABRIC Textilien sind 100 % natürlich abbaubar – inklusive Nähfaden und Webbänder. So wird ein Kleidungsstück zum Nährboden für neue Rohstoffe und der Kreis nimmt seinen Lauf.

ON THE ROAD TO F-ABRIC

Camera/Edit: Yves Scagliola, Music: Zigitros, Voice: Russell Hergert

 

A MOVING PIECE OF F-ABRIC

Media Overview