Mono[PA6] Banner
Image
Mono[PA6] Banner Mobile

THE MONO[PA6] BACKPACK: ONE MATERIAL, MANY CYCLES

The new Mono[PA6] Backpack from FREITAG is circular. From the fabric to the zippers and buckles, it’s made from a single material and can be easily recycled as a whole at the end of its life. By launching this innovative product, we’re closing a material loop and taking a significant step toward our vision of a circular economy.

 

Thinking and acting in cycles is integral to FREITAG’s DNA. Our vision is clear: we aim to design bags and accessories that aren’t simply made from used materials but are also circular. We’ve already achieved this by developing the compostable F-ABRIC clothing line and the circular CIRC-CASE smartphone protector. After three years of development, FREITAG is launching its latest innovation: the circular Mono[PA6] Backpack – a functional, durable, water-repellent everyday companion made from a single material and fully recyclable.

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

2-IN-1: A BACKPACK AND CROSSBODY BAG IN ONE

 

The Mono[PA6] Backpack is a lightweight, versatile, everyday companion that meets the myriad different needs of everyday urban life. The musette – a small, detachable bag – forms the multifunctional two-in-one centerpiece: it can be worn as a practical crossbody bag or serves as an additional outer pocket when attached to the backpack.

EASILY RECYCLABLE – THANKS TO MONO-MATERIALITY

 

We aimed to ensure that the Mono[PA6] Backpack can be recycled as a whole. For this reason, we made it from a single material: polyamide 6, PA6 for short, better known as nylon. But mono-materiality is more complex than it might sound: in all, we needed 17 components made of PA6, from sturdy zippers and a water-repellent primary material to carrying straps, cords and buckles.

Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery

The Mono[PA6] Backpack has the high-quality features you expect from FREITAG: it’s robust, durable and water-repellent. The search for an existing water-repellent fabric made from a single material was unsuccessful because such textiles have traditionally required an additional coating or membrane made from other materials. However, in terms of mono-materiality, this was out of the question. Together with a partner, we therefore developed a new type of water-repellent fabric that is also a mono-material.

Would you like to see for yourself? The Mono[PA6] Backpack is available at these selected stores.

«We have to take a holistic approach to the design of our products, keeping the end of their lives in mind and ensuring that everything circular actually goes back into the cycle.»
– Anna Blattert, Circular Technologist at FREITAG

REPAIR AND TAKE-BACK

 

We want your Mono[PA6] Backpack to be part of your life for as long as possible. That’s why we designed it to be easily repaired. And when it finally reaches the end of its life? At that point, we take it back to FREITAG and recycle it as a whole. Because only when a product actually returns to the cycle can you call it genuinely circular. Our repair and take-back services help to make it easier for you to be part of the cycle.

To ensure your Mono[PA6] Backpack accompanies you for as long as possible, it can be easily repaired.

At the end of its life, we take back the Mono[PA6] Backpack and recycle it as a whole. And that creates something new.

COLLABORATING FOR INNOVATION

 

We firmly believe that the transition to a circular economy can only be achieved through a collaborative effort. That's why we teamed up with a Taiwanese partner in the textile industry to jointly develop the innovative water-repellent outer material of the Mono[PA6] Backpack. The backpack’s design was likewise a co-creative effort, and FREITAG worked closely with British designer Jeffrey Siu. His design references the bike culture to which FREITAG is so closely affiliated and reinterprets it.

CYCLES IN THE LIFE OF THE FREITAG MONO[PA6]

Mono[PA6]

The idea behind our circular backpack is simple: it consists of a single material and can, therefore, be recycled as a whole. So, after a long life, it doesn’t end up in the garbage but returns to the material cycle. However, the circularity principle can only work if you play your part. And that means using your Mono[PA6] Backpack as long as possible, looking after it and having it repaired, and then, when its time has come, bringing it back to FREITAG. From Zurich, the discarded backpacks go to a recycling partner, who shreds them as a whole and mechanically processes them into PA6 granulate that can then be used to produce new items, such as backpack components.

Seventeen components. One material.

Mono[PA6] Materials

All Mono[PA6] Backpack components are made of polyamide 6. However, restricting production to a single material is more complex than it might sound. A total of 17 components made of PA6 had to be found, each with their own specific requirements regarding texture and properties: from a water-repellent primary material and sturdy zippers through to the carrying straps, the sewing thread, and a comfortable back padding.

Sign up now for the FREITAG newsletter and, as a personal friend of the brand, be the first to know about unique bags and innovative materials and get lots of love from the F‑Crew.

Mono[PA6] Banner
Image
Mono[PA6] Banner Mobile

DER MONO[PA6] RUCKSACK: EIN MATERIAL, VIELE KREISLÄUFE

Der neue Mono[PA6] Rucksack von FREITAG ist kreislauffähig. Vom Stoff über die Reissverschlüsse bis zu den Schnallen besteht er aus nur einem Material, sodass er am Ende seines Lebens einfach und als Ganzes rezykliert werden kann. Mit der Lancierung des innovativen Produkts schliessen wir einen Materialkreislauf und kommen so unserer Vision der Kreislaufwirtschaft einen wichtigen Schritt näher.

 

Das Denken und Handeln in Kreisläufen ist tief in der DNA von FREITAG verankert. Unsere Vision ist klar: Wir wollen unsere Taschen und Accessoires so gestalten, dass sie nicht mehr nur aus gebrauchten Materialien bestehen, sondern auch zirkulär sind. Mit der Entwicklung der kompostierbaren Kleiderlinie F-ABRIC oder der zirkulären Smartphonehülle CIRC-CASE ist uns dies bereits gelungen. Nach dreijähriger Entwicklungszeit lanciert FREITAG jetzt eine nächste Innovation: den zirkulären Mono[PA6] Rucksack, einen funktionalen, langlebigen und wasserabweisenden Alltagsbegleiter, hergestellt aus einem einzigen Material und vollständig rezyklierbar.

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

2-IN-1: RUCKSACK UND CROSSBODY BAG IN EINEM

 

Der Mono[PA6] Rucksack ist ein leichter, vielseitig einsetzbarer Alltagsbegleiter, der deinen unterschiedlichsten Bedürfnissen im urbanen Alltag Rechnung trägt. Die Musette – eine kleine, abnehmbare Tasche – bildet das multifunktionale 2-in-1-Herzstück: Sie kann entweder als praktischer Crossbody Bag getragen werden oder lässt sich als zusätzliche Aussentasche am Rucksack befestigen.

EINFACH REZYKLIERBAR – DANK MONOMATERIALITÄT

 

Damit der Mono[PA6] Rucksack als Ganzes rezykliert werden kann, ist er aus einem einzigen Material hergestellt: Polyamid 6, kurz PA6, besser bekannt als Nylon. Diese Monomaterialität ist aber komplexer, als es zunächst klingt: Insgesamt 17 aus PA6 hergestellte Komponenten mussten gefunden werden – von stabilen Reissverschlüssen über ein wasserabweisendes Hauptmaterial bis hin zu Tragegurten, Kordeln oder Schnallen.

Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery
Mono[PA6] Gallery

Der Mono[PA6] Rucksack kommt in gewohnt hoher FREITAG Qualität daher – robust, langlebig und wasserabweisend. Die Suche nach einem bereits verfügbaren wasserabweisenden Stoff aus einem einzigen Material verlief erfolglos, denn bislang erforderten solche Textilien klassischerweise eine zusätzliche Beschichtung oder Membrane aus anderen Materialien - was jedoch hinsichtlich Monomaterialität nicht infrage kam. Zusammen mit einem Partner haben wir deshalb ein neuartiges, wasserabweisendes Gewebe entwickelt, das gleichzeitig monomateriell ist.

Möchtest du dir persönlich ein Bild machen? Der Mono[PA6] Backpack ist in diesen ausgewählten Stores erhältlich.

«Wir müssen Produkte ganzheitlich, mit ihrem Lebensende im Blick, konzipieren und dafür sorgen, dass alles, was kreislauffähig ist, auch tatsächlich in den Kreislauf zurückkommt.»
– Anna Blattert, Circular Technologist bei FREITAG

Repair und Take-Back

 

Dein Mono[PA6] Rucksack soll dich möglichst lange begleiten. Deshalb ist er so gestaltet, dass er ganz einfach repariert werden kann. Und wenn er dereinst am Ende seiner Lebensdauer angekommen ist? Dann nehmen wir ihn zurück zu FREITAG und rezyklieren ihn als Ganzes – denn nur wenn ein Produkt tatsächlich in den Kreislauf zurückgeführt wird, ist es wirklich zirkulär. Unsere Reparatur- und Take-Back-Angebote unterstützen dich dabei, ein Teil des Kreislaufs zu sein.

Damit dein Mono[PA6] Backpack dich möglichst lange begleitet, kann er ganz einfach repariert werden.

Am Ende seines Lebens nehmen wir den Mono[PA6] Rucksack zurück und rezyklieren ihn als Ganzes. So entsteht daraus wieder Neues.

KOLLABORATIV INNOVATIV

 

Wir sind überzeugt, dass die Transformation hin zur Kreislaufwirtschaft nur kollaborativ erreicht werden kann. Deshalb haben wir uns mit einem taiwanesischen Partner aus der Textilindustrie zusammengetan, um das innovative wasserabweisende Obermaterial des Mono[PA6] Rucksacks gemeinsam zu entwickeln. Auch im Produktdesign verfolgte FREITAG einen co-kreativen Ansatz: Der Mono[PA6] Rucksack wurde zusammen mit dem britischen Designer Jeffrey Siu gestaltet. Jeffrey nimmt mit seinem Design Bezug auf die Zweiradkultur, in der FREITAG tief verwurzelt ist, und interpretiert sie neu.

DIE KREISLÄUFE VON FREITAG MONO[PA6]

Mono[PA6]

Die Idee hinter unserem zirkulären Rucksack ist einfach: Er besteht aus einem einzigen Material und ist dadurch als Ganzes rezyklierbar. So landet er nach einem langen Leben nicht im Müll, sondern wieder im Materialkreislauf. Das Zirkularitätsprinzip funktioniert jedoch nur, wenn du deinen Teil dazu beiträgst: Indem du deinen Mono[PA6] Rucksack so lange wie möglich benutzt, ihn pflegst und reparieren lässt und ihn dann, wenn seine Zeit gekommen ist, zu FREITAG zurückbringst. Von Zürich aus gelangen die ausgedienten Rucksäcke dann zu einem Recyclingpartner, der sie als Ganzes schreddert und mechanisch zu PA6-Granulat verarbeitet, das dann für die Herstellung neuer Dinge – wie z. B. Rucksackteilen – wiederverwendet wird.

17 Komponenten. Ein Material.

Mono[PA6] Materials

Sämtliche Bestandteile des Mono[PA6] Backpacks bestehen aus Polyamid 6. Diese Beschränkung auf ein einziges Material ist komplexer, als es zunächst klingt. Insgesamt 17 aus PA6 hergestellte Komponenten mussten gefunden werden – alle mit ihren spezifischen Anforderungen an Textur und Eigenschaften: von einem wasserabweisenden Hauptmaterial über stabile Reissverschlüsse bis hin zu den Tragegurten, dem Nähgarn und einem bequemen Rückenpolster.

Melde dich jetzt für den FREITAG Newsletter an und erfahre als persönliche*r Freund*in als Erste*r von einzigartigen Taschen, innovativen Materialien und viel Liebe von der F‑Crew.