Hundreds of photos and miles of duct tape - Claudia and Yves from the animation studio Tiny Giant use these to produce their explanatory videos for every type of FREITAG bag. What else it takes for the still images to get moving ... they'll explain it to you right here.

Our concept is quite straightforward. FREITAG designs are stories within themselves, so our job is to give the future owner a good idea about the size and the functionality of the product.

Traditionally in advertising, this has been done by filling, say the trunk of a car with 24 crates of beer or three big men in lederhosen (Skoda commercial from the 90’s). We like to play with this trope and take it all the way, filling the FREITAG bags with everything from popcorn, over inflatable crocodiles to porcelain dogs.

The stop-motion technique, in which hundreds of individual images are strung together creating an illusion of movement, is ideal for this purpose. With stop motion, we can move everything around like magic and contrary to drawn animation, we can ‘keep it real’ by using the actual materials and real live human people, and still keep it playful. 

HOW-TO: HOW-TO MOVIE

Before shooting, we get to know the product, brainstorm ideas, draw a storyboard, build the sets, set the lights and fixate everything to the table with tape and wire; the lights, the products, any object, really, since the main challenge of stop motion is to only move the exact thing you want to move and nothing else! (This gets awfully complicated when you work with people on roller blades, non-stuffed, very much alive dogs and rocket popsicles!)

Then we shoot for 1-2 days and afterwards we stick all the individual photos together to create the actual movie. In the end we adjust the colors and in rare occasions, we retouch bloopers like forgotten scissors or half-eaten sandwiches out.

«Making these videos has given us a fair share of slightly fucked up, but also very fun and extremely creative processes.»

We shoot the How-to Movies at the F-actory in Zurich - just like here on the set of F660 JIMMY. And yes, in all our movies FREITAG employees have to stick it out as models themselves. 

Some more F660 JIMMY

“Slightly fucked up" and "honest" are two of FREITAG’s principles and our 8 years of making these videos have certainly given us a fair share of slightly fucked up, but also very fun and extremely creative processes.

The more How-to Movies we have created, around 160 as we speak, the more we miss the synthetic smell of a freshly washed tarp after some weeks of cold turkey from FREITAG.

Hunderte Fotos und ganz viel Klebeband - damit produzieren Claudia und Yves vom Animationsstudio Tiny Giant ihre Erklärvideos für unsere Taschen und Accessoires. Hier erklären sie dir, was es sonst noch dazu braucht.     

Unser Konzept ist ziemlich simpel. Jedes Design von FREITAG erzählt seine ganz eigene Geschichte. Unser Job ist es, dem künftigen Besitzer eine Vorstellung von der Grösse und Funktionalität des Produkts zu geben.

Früher steckte man dafür auch mal 24 Kästen Bier oder drei kräftige Männer in Lederhosen in einen Kofferraum – wie es Skoda in den 1990ern tat. Wir mögen es, solche Ideen aufzunehmen und auf die Spitze zu treiben. Zum Beispiel füllen wir FREITAG Taschen mit allen möglichen Dingen wie Popcorn, aufblasbaren Krokodilen oder Porzellanhündchen.

Die Stop-Motion Technik, die Hunderte von Einzelbildern zu einem scheinbar bewegten Bild zusammenfügt, ist perfekt dafür. Mit ihr können wir alles wie von Zauberhand herumschieben. Stop-Motion wirkt verspielt, bleibt aber im Gegensatz zur gezeichneten Animation realistisch, weil wir mit handfestem Material und echten Menschen arbeiten. 

HINTER DEN STOP-MOTION KULISSEN

Bevor wir mit dem Dreh beginnen, sehen wir uns das Produkt genau an. Wir brainstormen Ideen, zeichnen ein Storyboard, bauen Sets, sorgen für die optimale Belichtung und befestigen alles mit Klebeband und Draht am Tisch: die Lampen, die Tasche, einfach alles. Die grösste Herausforderung bei Stop-Motion ist nämlich, immer nur das zu bewegen, was sich im Video auch bewegen soll. Und alles andere muss genau da bleiben, wo es ist. (Das ist gar nicht so einfach, wenn Menschen auf Inlineskates, sehr lebendige Hunde oder ein schmelzendes Raketenglace die Hauptrolle spielen!)

Wir drehen meistens ein bis zwei Tage lang und fügen dann die Einzelbilder zu einem Video zusammen. Am Ende passen wir die Farben an und retuschieren in seltenen Fällen auch mal kleine Patzer wie vergessenes Werkzeug oder angebissene Sandwiches raus.

«Slightly fucked up? Das beschreibt so einige unserer Videodrehs.»

Wir drehen die How-to Movies in der F-abrik in Zürich – so wie hier am Set von F660 JIMMY. Und ja, in allen Videos müssen jeweils Mitarbeitende von FREITAG als Models herhalten. 

Some more F660 JIMMY

«Slightly fucked up» und «honest» sind zwei der Grundprinzipien von FREITAG. Und das beschreibt so einige unserer Videodrehs in den letzten acht Jahren. Gleichzeitig ist diese Arbeit aber auch extrem kreativ und witzig.

Je mehr How-to Movies wir drehen – bis jetzt waren es rund 160 – je mehr vermissen wir jeweils den speziellen Geruch frischgewaschener LKW-Planen, nachdem wir einen Dreh beendet haben und für ein paar Wochen ganz ohne FREITAG auskommen müssen.