Samuel Fausch wants to build a playground on Lake Zurich, where it can be enjoyed by people who are really too old for swings.

In his office in Oerlikon, Samuel Fausch bends over a plastic device that looks like a spider with its legs glued on to two slabs of concrete. “The structural analysis is still giving me a bit of a headache,” says Fausch, jiggling the frame. “I need to get an engineer to do the calculations.”

He’s talking about his invention: a massive floating swing made from wood and metal. At the moment, it exists only in the form of a plastic model on a table in an office, but if everything goes according to plan it will soon be floating on Lake Zurich, or another lake in Switzerland.

ausch came up with the idea while playing with his children at Josefwiese park in Zurich. He watched the kids as they swung back and forth on the swings. He would have liked to have had a go himself, to really get some momentum happening. And then jump off mid-swing. Then again, he thought, the playground is probably not the best place for it, because there’s only gravel to land on – water would be much better.

Fausch is stocky man with a thick beard who knows all the ins and outs of metal construction. His company produces fireplaces, garden furniture, school benches... just about anything that has to be milled and welded. He searched the internet to see if anyone else had come up with an idea similar to his water swing, but did not find anything – instead he found videos of children sliding off swings and falling on to the ground.

“I think the idea has potential, because you can take much bigger risks if you’re falling into water,” he says.

He designed his swing in accordance with official playground standards. “The specifications are all very precise and I stuck to the rules,” he explains, although he does not know exactly how his construction will behave in the water, as no one has tried it yet. Nevertheless, the swing is definitely not suitable for small children, because one needs to be able to swim to reach the raft on which the swing is mounted. And the raft needs to be far enough away from the shore, so that the surrounding water is deep enough to jump into.

“Of course, I also hope that people use it as a place to hang out,” he says. The raft is not only intended as a playground, but as a place to meet up on the lake.

However, he doesn’t know if there is a market for such a product. “I think it’s a great idea,” he says, “but what does everyone else think? That’s what I plan to find out.”

In short: what’s it all about?

Jumping off a swing at full speed – Samuel Fausch has always thought this was a brilliant idea, ever since he was a little boy. This childhood dream motivated the metal worker and backyard inventor to develop a new kind of play equipment. Now he’s looking for splash-happy crowd funders to help him put his idea into action.

THE PROJECT AT WEMAKEIT

More wemakeit live projects

Event date

Samuel Fausch möchte den Kinderspielplatz auf den Zürichsee verlagern. Dort könnten sich dann all jene austoben, die eigentlich zu alt sind für Schaukeln.

In seinem Büro in Oerlikon beugt sich Samuel Fausch über ein Gerät aus Plastik, das aussieht wie eine Spinne, deren Beine an zwei Platten festgeklebt sind. „Das mit der Statik bereitet mir noch ein wenig Kopfzerbrechen“, sagt Fausch und wackelt am Gerüst, „das muss ich noch von einem Ingenieur berechnen lassen.“

Er redet über seine Erfindung: eine schwimmende Riesenschaukel aus Holz und Metall. Im Moment existiert sie erst als Modell aus Plastik auf einem Tisch in einem Büro, aber wenn alles klappt, sollte sie schon bald im Zürichsee schwimmen, oder auf einem anderen See in diesem Land.

Die Idee kam ihm beim Spielen mit seinen Kindern auf der Josefwiese in Zürich. Er schaute den Kleinen zu, wie sie auf der Schaukel hin und her wippten. Am liebsten hätte er sich selber draufgesetzt, um so richtig Anlauf zu nehmen. Und abzuspringen. Auf dem Spielplatz, überlegte er sich, wäre das wohl nicht so eine gute Idee, denn da war da Kies – aber Wasser wäre besser.

Fausch ist ein stämmiger Mann mit dichtem Bart, der sich bestens im Metallbau auskennt. Seine Firma stellt Feuerstellen her, Gartenmöbel, Schulhausbänke, eigentlich fast alles, was gefräst und geschweisst werden muss. Im Internet suchte er nach einer ähnlichen Idee wie seine Wasserschaukel, konnte aber nichts finden – stattdessen fand er Filme über Leute, die von der Schaukel rutschen und zu Boden fallen.

„Ich denke, die Idee hat schon Potential, denn man kann viel mehr riskieren wenn man nur ins Wasser fällt“, sagt er.

Seine Schaukel entwarf er nach den Vorgaben der Spielgerätenorm. „Das ist alles genau festgelegt, und daran habe ich mich gehalten“, sagt er. Wie sich das dann allerdings im Wasser verhält, weiss er auch nicht so genau, da es noch nie jemand ausprobiert hat. Für kleine Kinder ist es jedoch definitiv nicht geeignet, denn wer noch nicht schwimmen kann, kommt gar nicht erst auf das Floss, auf dem die Schaukel montiert ist. Und das Floss muss weit genug vom Ufer entfernt sein, wo das Wasser tief genug ist.

„Meine Hoffnung ist natürlich auch, dass die Leute zusätzlich einen Ort zum Abhängen haben“, sagt er. Das Floss soll also nicht nur Spielplatz sein, sondern auch ein Treffpunkt auf dem See.

Er weiss allerdings nicht, ob es einen Markt dafür gibt. „Ich finde die Idee super“, sagt er, „aber was denken die anderen? Ich werde es herausfinden.“

Steckbrief: Worum geht’s?

Mit vollem Schwung von der Schaukel springen – das reizte Samuel Fausch schon als kleiner Knirps. Der Bubentraum hat ihn als Tüftler und Metallbauer zur Entwicklung dieses neuen Spielgeräts motiviert. Jetzt sucht er absprungfreudige Crowdfunder, die ihn in der Realisation unterstützen.

DAS PROJEKT BEI WEMAKEIT

Weitere wemakeit live Projekte

Event date