If you want to make biodegradable clothing in your own neighborhood, you’ve got to go back to the beginning of the development process and start with the fibers.

In our quest for the right raw materials, we ran into two old acquaintances and one new one.

Leinen

Linen (also known as flax) is the oldest textile fiber in the world. It’s also an economical jack-of-all-trades. The fibers are extracted from the bast, the tissue under the plant’s bark. Linen fibers are comfortable to wear thanks to their cooling effect, and they’re extremely durable. Farming flax requires quite a bit of know-how, but the good news is that it doesn’t need a lot of fertilizer or pesticides, or additional irrigation. It grows best in temperate climate zones.

Hanf

Hemp fibers are versatile, easy to care for, and virtually perfect. They’re warm, breathable, and extremely strong, which is why hemp has been embraced by so many cultures for thousands of years. Hemp fibers are extracted from the plant’s bast. The plant thrives in almost any climate, doesn’t need much water or any pesticides and doesn’t deplete agricultural soil.

Modal

Modal is a fiber whose properties are quite similar to those of cotton. It’s made from cellulose that has been extracted from beechwood. First, beechwood shavings are dissolved in acid and then the cellulose is extracted, processed into a viscous pulp, and spun into threads. Beech trees are selfpropagating, which means no planting is required to produce Modal.

The F-lax farmer family

The sixth generation of the Cabot family farms its flax fields for linen production in Normandy as it has for 90 years. They know their fields and their soil better than anyone else, but every season is a new game. Each fiber is unique, every year is different – that is the nature of natural fibers.

Pour produire des vêtements biodégradables à proximité, il faut revenir au début de la chaîne de production et commencer par la fibre.  

En cherchant les matières premières adéquates, nous avons découvert deux anciennes fibres et une nouvelle.

Lin

Fibre polyvalente économique, le lin est aussi la plus ancienne matière première textile du monde. Les fibres sont obtenues à partir des tiges de la plante. Les fibres de lin ont des propriétés rafraîchissantes, sont agréables à porter et extrêmement robustes. La culture du lin demande certes une grande expérience mais aussi très peu d’engrais, de pesticides et aucun arrosage supplémentaire. Les régions climatiques tempérées sont idéales pour le cultiver.

Chanvre

Les fibres de chanvre sont polyvalentes, faciles à entretenir et presque parfaites. Par nature, la fibre est respirante, extrêmement robuste et chaude, ce qui explique qu’elle soit très appréciée depuis des millénaires comme plante utile dans de nombreuses civilisations. Les fibres de chanvre sont obtenues à partir du liber de la plante. Celle-ci peut être cultivée dans presque toutes les régions climatiques, elle a de faibles besoins en eau et se passe très bien de pesticides.

Modal

Le modal est une fibre synthétique d’origine naturelle aux propriétés similaires à celles du coton. La cellulose est extraite des copeaux de bois de hêtre. Les copeaux sont dissous dans de l’acide et la cellulose obtenue est transformée en pâte visqueuse puis filée. Comme les hêtres contrôlent et équilibrent leur peuplement de manière autonome, il n’est pas nécessaire de les cultiver pour la production de modal.

La famille de cultivateurs de lin

Cela fait déjà six générations que la famille Cabot exploite ses champs de lin en Normandie, ce qui représente 90 ans de culture du lin. Après tant d’années, ils connaissent parfaitement leurs champs et leur terre, mais le lin change constamment et aujourd’hui encore, les Cabot en apprennent encore sur sa culture. Aucune fibre ne ressemble à une autre, aucune année ne ressemble à la précédente – c’est la nature même de la fibre naturelle.

Plus histoires